SCOM Maintenance Mode Tool – SP1 Version

Hey Everyone.  I have finished the update to the tool to let it work with SP1 environments.  The problem had to do with the way that I can query SCOM for objects.  In R2 I can pull back only objects of the class I specify with the display name matches I specify.  With the SP1 binaries I have to pull back all objects of the queried class type then filter by matching.  So, what does this mean?  The tool will take a long time to query classes with high instance counts.  If someone with .Net experience wants to take a stab at making this more efficient let me know and ill send you the code.  With that in mind, the tool now does in fact work!  It is available HERE

This entry was posted in Management Pack Authoring. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SCOM Maintenance Mode Tool – SP1 Version

  1. Alan Adams says:

    I am also working on a tool for 2007 R2 similar to what you have. If you provide me with your code I would be willing to share anything I develop.

  2. Don says:

    This sure looks like a great tool that MS should have developed. Are there any updates on this?
    It would be really cool if there were.
    Great job guys.

    • randorfer says:

      Hey Don,

      Thanks for the comment. I have not had time to extend the code base lately as my job has changed focus from SCOM to Opalis. I do however still do bug fixes when they arise. The project has been changed to a codeplex project so anyone is more than welcome to request contribute rights so they can extend or fork.

      http://scommaintenancemode.codeplex.com/

      It could probabaly use a code cleanup and extending it to enable ‘scheduled’ maintenance mode is something that I have wanted to do for awhile. I have a ‘command line’ version of the tool which I will post up there as well.

Leave a Reply

